Welcome, Guest
Welcome, Guest
Dry Land

Ruby Rae Spiegel, Playwright

Ruby Rae Spiegel


Ruby Rae Spiegel is from Brooklyn, New York. Her first play, Carrie & Francine, was selected for the OffBroadway Summer Shorts 5 Festival. Dry Land was produced at the HERE Arts Center by downtown theater company, Colt Coeur, Permanent Record Theatre, Kings Cross Theatre, Center Theatre Group, TheatreLAB, Kirk Douglas Theatre, Forum Theatre, and it was developed at New York Stage and Film’s Powerhouse Summer Theater Session, as well as the Ojai Playwrights Conference. She has written for TV and short films including The OA (2016), Mindhunter (2017), and Some of Us Had Been Threatening Our Friend Colby (2015). Ruby is a graduate of Young Playwrights Inc. and Yale University.

Ariel Craft, Director

Ruby Rae Spiegel


Ariel Craft is a director, generative theater-maker, and incoming artistic director of San Francisco's Cutting Ball Theater. Recent directing credits include Paula Vogel's The Mineola Twins, the collectively-created MacBitch, Jean Racine’s Phèdre, a world premiere adaptation of Kate Chopin’s The Awakening, Martin McDonagh’s The Pillowman, Bekah Brunstetter's The Oregon Trail, Federico García Lorca’s Blood Wedding, and a world premiere adaptation of John Ford’s ‘Tis Pity She’s a Whore. Ariel has served as associate artistic director at the Cutting Ball Theater for the past three seasons, founded and led The Breadbox for five seasons, and previously served as assistant artistic director at The Custom Made Theatre Co. and artistic fellow at the American Conservatory Theater. She holds a BFA with honors from New York University, where she studied multidisciplinary theater-making at the Playwrights Horizons Theater School. Ariel received a Theatre Bay Area Award for Outstanding Direction for Cutting Ball Theater’s Phèdre as well as Theatre Bay Area’s TITAN Award.

The Cast

Martha Brigham, Amy*
Adam Magill, Victor*
Grace Ng, Ester
Amy Nowak, Reba
Don Wood, Janitor

The Swim Team

Eliza Boivin
Camille Cheetham
Matty Darragh-Ford
Olivia Dunn
Ciera Eis
Regina Leon
Jen Marte
Regina Monique
Leigh Rondon-Davis

The Crew

Kristin Aldrich, Costume Assistant
Cassie Barnes, Lighting Designer
Valera Coble, Costume Designer
Ariel Craft, Director
Erin Gilley, Video Designer
Maya Herbsman, Assistant Director
Lenny Adler, Production Assistant
Heather Kelly-Laws, Stage Manager*
Devon LaBelle, Props Designer
Dave Maier, Fight Director
Angrette McCloskey, Set Designer
Caitlin Steinmann, Master Electrician
Sara Witsch, Sound Designer

*Member of Actors’ Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers. This Theatre operates under an agreement with Actors’ Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers in the United States

The Sponsors

Production Sponsors

Ann Gabor Arancio & Remo Arancio
The Grubb Company

2018 Season Sponsors

Peet's Coffee & Tea
Carol Amyx & Donald Kaufman
Kitty Bosher
DeYoe Wealth Management
Craig & Kathy Moody
Guy Tiphane