Welcome, Guest

Guillermo Calderón, Playwright

Guillermo Calderón

Photo source: AOI International

Guillermo Calderón (b. Santiago, Chile, 1971) is a screenwriter, playwright, and theatre director based in the USA. His plays include Neva, Diciembre, Clase, Villa, Speech, Quake, Escuela, Kiss, Mateluna, and Goldrausch. Calderón’s productions have toured extensively through South America, North America, and Europe. He has been commissioned to write and direct by the Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, Theater Basel, HAU Hebbel am Ufer, the Royal Court Theater, Center Theater Group, and the Public Theater in New York City, where he also directed Neva. His cowritten screenplay Violeta Went to Heaven won the World Cinema Jury Prize for Drama at the 2012 Sundance Film Festival. He cowrote The Club, directed by Pablo Larrain, winner of the Silver Bear at the Berlin International Film Festival 2015, and nominated for the Golden Globes in the Foreign Language category. The script won the silver plaque at the Chicago International Film Festival. He wrote the script for Neruda, directed by Pablo Larraín, presented at the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs (The Director's Forthnight) during Cannes Film Festival 2016. He recently directed his play Villa in New York City, produced by The Play Company. His new play B was produced at the Royal Court Theater in September 2017.


When a ‘Kiss’ Is Not Just a Kiss

Elyse Dodgson | American Theatre | September 25, 2017

Evren Odcikin, Director

Evren Odcikin

Photo by Cheshire Issacs

Evren Odcikin has worked at Berkeley Rep, South Coast Rep, the Lark (NYC), O’Neill Theatre Center, Kennedy Center, InterACT (Philadelphia), Cleveland Public Theatre, TheatreSquared (Arkansas), Magic Theatre, SF Playhouse, Crowded Fire, TheatreFirst, and Playwrights Foundation with such writers as Melis Aker, Christopher Chen, Frances Ya-Chu Cowhig, Yussef El Guindi, Lauren Gunderson, Prince Gomolvilas, David Jacobi, MJ Kaufman, Hannah Khalil, Jonas Hassen Khemiri, Michael Lew, Mona Mansour, Rehana Mirza, Marisela Traviño Orta, Betty Shamieh, Caridad Svich, and Lauren Yee, amongst many others. Recognitions include a 2015 National Directors Fellowship from the NNPN, O’Neill, the Kennedy Center, and SDCF; “Theater Workers You Should Know” selection by American Theatre Magazine in 2016; a 2013 TITAN Award from Theatre Bay Area; and being selected as an Emerging Theatre Leader by TCG for their Leadership Bootcamp in 2012. Evren is the director of new plays and marketing at Golden Thread and a founder of Maia Directors, a consulting group for organizations and artists engaging with stories from the Middle East and beyond. Next up: Mona Mansour’s We Swim, We Talk, We Go to War at Golden Thread, Jordan Tannahill’s Late Company at NCTC, and Gabriel Jason Dean’s Heartland at InterACT. odcikin.com


Local director’s key to success: ‘I don’t know’

Lily Janiak | San Francisco Chronicle | May 20, 2017

The Cast

Rasha Mohamed, Woman
Roneet Aliza Rahamim, Hadeel/Andrea
Jessica Lea Risco, Interpreter
Elissa Beth Stebbins, Laura/Bana
Wiley Naman Strasser, Ahmed/Martin
Phil Wong, Youssif/Daniel

The Crew

Cassie Barnes, Lighting Designer
Miyuki Bierlein, Costume Designer
Sara Huddleston, Sound Designer
Liz Johnson, Production Assistant
Nathalie Khankan, Translator/Dialect Coach
Heather Kelly-Laws, Stage Manager
Devon LaBelle, Props Designer
Kevin Landesman, Video Designer
Dave Maier, Fight/Stunt Director
Evren Odcikin, Director
Caitlin Steinmann, Master Electrician
Ali Toia, Costume Assistant/M.A.D. Fellow
Mikiko Uesugi, Set Designer†
Quinci Waller, Assistant Director
Torange Yeghiazarian, Dramaturg

*Member of Actors’ Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers. This Theatre operates under an agreement with Actors’ Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers in the United States
†Member of United Scenic Artists Local 829

The Sponsors

Production Sponsors

Les & Sue Polgar
Pepi Ross & Jason Marks
Susan Taylor & Bob Fabry

2018 Season Sponsors

Peet's Coffee & Tea
Carol Amyx & Donald Kaufman
Kitty Bosher
DeYoe Wealth Management
Craig & Kathy Moody
Guy Tiphane